Skip to main content


The SVT Committees are comprised of members who have volunteered their time to help the running of the Society. There are many different roles available within the Committees. Offices on the Committees are normally held for two years, although sometimes there are exceptions to this. A call for new volunteers is usually issued in the months preceding the AGM, as Offices are normally formally handed over during the AGM.


The SVT has four main committees that organise Society business: the Executive Committee, the Education Committee, the Professional Standards Committee and the Research Committee



  1. Executive Committee
  2. Education Committee
  3. Professional Standards Committee
  4. Research Committee

Executive Committee

The SVT Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the work of the sub-committees and making decisions about the ongoing projects the Society is involved in. It holds four meetings a year. The Executive Committee work with external bodies on national projects including: Department of Health, VSGBI, BMUS, IPEM, Institution of Physiological Sciences (IPS), Federation for Healthcare Scientists (FHCS), CF and Society of Radiographers (SoR). Officers of the Executive Committee are as follows:



Officer for 2023-2024


Emma Waldegrave

Vice President

Kamran Modaresi

Past President

Lee Smith


Ben Freedman

Newsletter Editor

Daniela Bond-Collins

Conference Secretary

Klaus Bond

Membership Secretary

Lynee McRae

Website Secretary

Rob James

Chair of the Education Committee

Hannah Williamson

Co-Chairs of the Professional Standards Committee

Joanne Walker & Alison Charig

Chair of the Research Committee

Dr Steven Rogers


Janine Fletcher





Back to top

Education Committee

The SVT Education Committee's primary responsibility is the Accreditiation of Clinical Vascular Scientists. This involves supporting trainees, organising training courses and revision days, preparing the theory exams, organising the practical assessments and monitoring CPD. Current officers of the Education Committee are as follows:




Officer for 2023-2024

Chair of Committee

Hannah Williamson

Theory Exam registration Officer

Laura Haworth

Secretary for Vascular Physics Theory Exam

Caroline Dainty

Secretary for Vascular Technology Theory Exam


Practical Examinations Officer

Laura Haworth

Emma Togher

CPD Officers

Amy Bolsworth

Ana Morais

Student Representative

Shannon Halliwell

Online CPD Questions

Louis Alexander

Study Day Organisers

Mike Davis

Alexx Webb

Educational Pathway Representative 

Helena Edlin 

Surgical Training Day Coordinator 

Felicity Woodgate



Back to top

Professional Standards Committee

The Professional Standards Committee looks at matters relating to professional and scientific aspects of Vascular Science. This includes writing example guidelines and protocols for running a vascular ultrasound service, liaising with other parties with common interests such as NICE, AAA Screening Programme, College of Radiographers etc. The committee also keeps in close touch with the Department of Health in matters relating to the profession, for example, relating to standards and quality issues.



Officer for 2023-2024


Jo Walker & Alison Charig






Kamran Modaresi

Eleanor Smith

Nikolas Sanoudos

Maria Morgan

Ved Ramnani

IQIPS Representatives: Jo Walker & Alison Charig


If you have any Questions regarding Professional Standards, please email -


Back to top

Research Committee

The SVT Research committee was set up in April 2016 to provide information and support to SVT members taking part in or setting up research projects. The remit of the Research Committee is as follows:

  • Provide guidance relating to matters of research directly to the SVT Executive Committee.
  • Actively support SVT members in participating and leading vascular disease related research that is of high quality, uses appropriate methods and is likely to produce good results
  • Support members in the proposals and application for large grants/fellowships
  • Provide research advice and guidance for members via the SVT website and newsletter
  • Improve and maintain the SVT research grant programme; review grant applications and provide funding recommendations to the SVT Executive committee
  • Develop and facilitate research collaborations with external bodies (e.g. Vascular Society, Vascular and Endovascular Research Network etc.) on behalf of the SVT membership
  • In collaboration with key stakeholders, we aim to develop consensus on research priorities


Research Committee Members


Officer for 2023-2024

Chair of Committee

Dr Steven Rogers

Deputy Chair

Nida Nadeem


Laura Scott

Osian Llwyd

Isaac Colliver

Yvonne Sensier

Emily Morgan

Ben Warner-Michel

Siobhan Trachowski

Alannah Morley-Brown

For information about the SVT research committee please see the Research page

Back to top